YANGON, A dusk-to-dawn curfew was imposed in five townships in Myanmar’s western Rakhine state starting from Tuesday, a Rakhine state parliamentary representative told Xinhua on Wednesday.

The five townships covered by the curfew are Yathedaung, Ponnagyun, Kyauktaw, Mrauk U and Minpya.

The curfew, which takes effect from 9 pm local time to 5 am local time, will last about two months, said U Khin Maung Latt, parliamentary representative from Rakhine state to the House of Nationalities (Upper House).

The dusk-to-dawn curfew bans people from going to public roads and designated areas of the five townships at night time.

The imposition of the curfew came as terrorists in Rakhine state, disguised as civilians, launched attacks on security forces recently, respective township administrations said in their statements.

The attacks have resulted in casualties and destruction of civilian houses, the statements said.

Curfew has been in place in Maungtaw and Buthidaung townships in the state since 2016 until now.